Warning: in_array() expects parameter 2 to be array, string given in /home/cdas/public_html/wp-content/plugins/wordpress-mobile-pack/frontend/sections/show-rel.php on line 37

Community Development Alliance Scotland

Revised National Standards for Community Engagement


The newly revised National Standards for Community Engagement were launched on 29th September 2016. First developed in 2005, the Standards are principles for effective practice which supports community engagement and user involvement in Scotland. They are intended to complement and support community empowerment in Scotland and in particular the implementation of the Community Empowerment (Scotland) Act 2015.

In 2015 and 2016, SCDC and What Works Scotland were commissioned by the Scottish Government to undertake a participatory process to review and update the Standards in light of the current context.

The National Standards for Community Engagement have been simplified to seven Standards, reflecting the main elements of good community engagement – Inclusion, Support, Planning, Working Together, Methods, Communication and Impact. Diagram.


Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *.

Web Site by Idea15 Web Design